Kenedy for Mother’s Day

So my first mini-capsule piece completed was supposed to be the Kenedy mini-dress.

20170514_110358-ANIMATION

I ended up loving it as a long tank! I finished it just in time for our Mother’s Day grill out. Now for the details…

kenedy compare front

I’m a C, and the bust point is an inch too low. That suggest a D or something right? I also had to chop off 8.5″ from the length before hemming to get a long tank.  That seems like a lot when the design photos show it as a mini-dress. I’m only 5’2″

20170514_110416

 

On the plus side, I was really worried about the deep v in the back. If I make this again, I would probably raise it maybe a half an inch to hide my bra strap. I love the fit of the neckline. Also as a bonus, the sleeves fit just fine with no heavy upper arm adjustment. With the full sleeve pattern, it can easily be adjusted to a longer sleeve in future makes.

kenedy side

Pattern size 0-26 (wow what a range!) I cut a 16 bust 18 hips. No other pattern adjustments other than the size up for the hips. It was a quick make. I used french seams for nicer finish and a matte poly charmeuse with a 4% spandex content. Definitely contemplating this for future makes!

4 thoughts on “Kenedy for Mother’s Day

    1. Oh the color just made this fabric jump into my cart even though it is a poly/spandex and I’ve been a bit of a fiber snob lately. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

