I completed a SSW:DS wardrobe!

So if you follow the Sew Alongs and Sewing Contests Facebook group, you know that SSW stands for Sew Seasonal Wardrobe, a recurring challenge hosted by the Facebook group. I really recommend this group for inspiration, support, etc.

Twin cover design

Anyway, the Deep Stash Challenge (aka DS) runs January 1st to April 30th and challenges seamstresses to create 8 pieces for a wardrobe using only patterns from their stash and mostly fabrics from their stash. It was a great challenge for me because I just organized my stash before the twins were born AND I needed clothes to transition from maternity to pre-pregnancy clothes (if possible). There are also some great prizes for indie patterns and fabric, so fingers crossed! Apologies for the photo quality! I’m not as organized these days about getting out and taking good outfit pictures.

Pieces chosen add to my existing wardrobe while not hitting my C-Section scar or irritating my healing tummy, so the bottoms go a bit higher than usual, but I hide that under the tops.

The tops were either flowy or in breathable natural fibers or both to flatter my extra inches.

I also tried for unique details like the v-neck in the back from Burda or various cutouts like the cold-shoulder trend and back keyholes just for fun.

Of course, I also wanted to test out some new basics like a princess A-line skirt and a basic shift dress.

These are ones I can use over and over and they fit with my life of chasing little boys around. I also love that they both have pockets!

 

Every wardrobe needs a basic tee and I love that Deer and Doe recently updated their free t-shirt pattern to cover sizes 46-52. That means I was able to cut and sew this tee with no FBA, no heavy upper arm adjustment, and just grading up from  a 48 bust to 52 hip. It was so easy!


I also played with this Vogue shift dress that was super easy with the C-cup front and soft loose shaping. I’ve never really gone for shift dresses before, but I am in love with them now! I want to make the short sleeve version in a black rayon ponte for my LBD and a version in a soft cotton print for summer.

While a few of the pieces took some time, most of these patterns were easy and straight-forward, which is exactly what this mama needs. I hope to keep making little sewing sessions for my sanity, but don’t expect too many wardrobe sew alongs like this as the babies are going to be more mobile soon!

2 thoughts on “I completed a SSW:DS wardrobe!

Leave a Reply

