Another drafting tutorial!

I’m excited to announce that my summer spent learning pattern drafting has produced some brilliant results in terms of modifications to basic patterns. This time I redrafted my Adele top from StyleArc into a maternity dress with a mock turtle neck, bell sleeves, and bell skirt.


You can really see the 20 week twin baby bump! For details on the sleeve and skirt pattern adjustments, check out my guest post over on FabricMartFabrics Blog!


For the collar, I simply took the binding strip for the neckline and made it wider. Then I just folded it in half, stretched to fit, and stitched to neckline just like the directions say for the binding. I also mislabeled the piece as it is clearly not how you draft a cowl neckline. I blame pregnancy brain!

I really love how fast, easy, and comfy this dress is. I am planning another version in basic solid jersey without the turtleneck for work. Maybe this time I’ll open up the neckline changing it from crew to scoop or jewel.

One thought on “Another drafting tutorial!

Leave a Reply

