Baby Quilts (part 1)

At first glance this probably seems like another ambitious moment with the quilts plural. In reality, it is because we’ve had an unexpected surprise: TWINS! My first ultrasound revealed two little buns in the oven. It really was a kick in the butt to get started on the baby sewing and maternity sewing as I need more time than I originally estimated to get it all done.

Last Saturday, while my husband took my son on a father/son date, I cut two fun & done quilts, essentially the strips for 72 quilt blocks and 72 backing/binding pieces. Have you ever seen this type of quilt? The batting and backing are pre-cut too.

fabric cut

It makes it super easy to actually complete a quilt in a timely manner without a long arm machine. I think they’re super cute too!

Because of the way the front and back are sewn directly to the batting, it removes a number of steps! It does come out a little sloppier in terms of not being able to perfectly align the blocks in later steps, but for a functional daily use quilt, it makes a busy mom/seamstress’ life easier. At this point I managed to finish 36 blocks in a week and a half! I will keep you posted.

 

15 thoughts on “Baby Quilts (part 1)

    1. Thanks! Usually I’m only nauseous in the mornings. After that passes, my energy levels are fine even with cutting way back on caffeine. Let’s hope it stays that way as I have so much planned!

  1. Yay twins, how amazing!! Congrats to you. I think these quilts will be perfect, I’ve made this kind of quilt and found it easy and fun to sew, I’m sure they will great.

  2. Two babies! How wonderful is that? And making quilts like this seems a lot faster and a great way to do two in the time it normally takes to do one. I could get into this sort of quilt making.

  3. A very hearty congratulations! And a brilliant way to quilt. I’ve never heard of quilting this way, and have always been put off with the idea of either hand or machine stitching a quilt.

    1. Have you ever read about the Alabama Chanin sewing books? She talks a lot about sewing knit fabric by hand as the edges won’t fray. She made some cute quilt looking items from squares of jersey that is essentially like wrapping your kids in t-shirt blankets. Here’s her website with her designs, fabrics, books, etc. http://alabamachanin.com/
      Everything in her sewing books are sewn by hand without machines. The first one in the series has great tutorials on how to stitch hand!

Leave a Reply

