Meet the Lisbon Cardigan!

IMG_0871

Itch to Stitch designer Kennis Wong has release a wardrobe staple pattern today and I helped! I am officially a pattern tester. It was a really great experience and a fun pattern to work with. SHOP HERE!

IMG_0883

I’m pretty proud of myself! Now for the details: the pattern comes with sleeve and hem length options that give it year-round use. The banding around the neck, CF, hem, and sleeve offer numerous color blocking opportunities (click here and scroll down for the tester variations). While I omitted the buttons, I could have easily snapped this to the hem without pulling. I used a medium-weight sweater knit with a little nylon lash that gives it a hint of shine and polish. It is a great work wear piece that I’ve paired with the maxi I made last year.

IMG_0876

The fit is amazing. The shoulder and bust fit with no alterations. I just graded up one size in the hip. The only thing I would change is how the cardigan is finished. Kennis designed it to be serge machine friendly too. The directions remind me of the serge RTW techniques I learned from Lidiana while in Brazil. That means that when the instructions says stitch/serge you can use either, but when you zigzag stitch on the bands with a traditional machine, it leaves the seam a little rough looking on the inside. Without snapping or buttoning, this roughness becomes visible when the cardigan drapes open. Living in Florida, I am constantly taking on and off layers as I move from the a/c buildings to the hot/humid great outdoors. Buttoning is something I tend to not do, so the finish annoys me a bit.

I am planning on making the longer version with a few modifications to make it more “boyfriend” or casual looking for jeans. When I do I will create a tutorial on how to finish the inside with traditional non-serge techniques.

3 thoughts on “Meet the Lisbon Cardigan!

Leave a Reply

