Anatomy of a Style Arc Pattern

Meet the Laura Jacket pattern from Style Arc. Personally I’m thinking of this as a cardigan, but what’s in a name anyway?

Laura jacket pattern front

Each pattern (I ordered 10 remember?) came in its own personal plastic sleeve that fits perfectly into a ring binder. It makes them storage ready, which I think is a nice plus.laura jacket page 2

Each pattern also has real fabric samples (LOVE!), a diagram of pieces and instructions on the back of the cover sheet. The instructions are minimalistic, similar to Burda’s lack of step-by-step diagrams.

laura jacket uncut sheet

The FULL (awesome!) pattern pieces are sketched onto this great paper. Its heavy and strong. It seems like this pattern will endure multiple uses. Everything is well marked and I was really shocked that it looks like its hand drawn! Also the layout includes a large blank space, which is great for pattern alterations.  laura jacket ready for alts

As I discovered with my Anita Blouse Muslin, the size I ordered no longer fits me, so I’m going to have to grade this down, but wait, WHAT IS THIS!?!  I have no idea why my Anita Blouse looks like it should fit a hippo and this one barely needs modification! I measured the pattern and my RTW hoodie just to double check, and I didn’t have to alter anything but length. WHAT??

I looked over the size chart on StyleArc’s website and best I can tell is that when I ordered the patterns I was between sizes and rounded down. As a pear I run a size smaller in the bust, and I followed the website directions of ordering tops, jackets, etc. based on the bust with the intention of grading up the waist and hips. Now my hips and waist match the size chart for 16 and no widening is needed. I probably should have shrunk the bust a little, but considering the draped style and the fact the shoulder measurements matched, I left it alone. That still doesn’t explain the Anita problem, with them both being the same size. I’m shooting off an email to the company. Maybe its more like they overestimated ease? Either way, this was my free pattern so I’m not going to cry too much.

Note on finishing: I plan to follow Ann’s advice at Gorgeous Fabric’s blog on how to sew the collar/hood so the seaming doesn’t show. Great tip!

Leave a Reply

