Finally watched Tim Gunn’s Guide to Style

First I can see why the show only aired for two seasons. I don’t really see the chemistry between Tim and Greta compared to Stacy London and Clinton Kelly, but Tim does provide this nifty list. There’s a similar list in Nina Garcia’s Little Black Book of Style and TLC’s website for What not to Wear if you want to see the slight variations between them.
Tim Gunn’s 10 Essential Items Every Woman Needs
• Basic black dress
• Trench coat
• Classic dress pants
• Classic white shirt
• Skirt
• Blazer
• Day dress
• Cashmere sweater
• Jeans
• A comfortable alternative to a sweatsuit

And if you’re really good he might let you buy one “really trendy item”.

Now I don’t know about you, but my husband isn’t going to be giving me the $5K to buy a new wardrobe, but I noticed that with the Free patterns from Burdastyle.com I could almost make the entire list using Free patterns! How awesome is that? Here are the links so you can be fabulous on a budget!

* Basic Black Dress>  Jocelyn, but I would lengthen it to the knee

* Trench Coat> Talea in a lovely color

*Classic white shirt> JJ Blouse (I love the ruffles!)

*Skirt> Marie

* Day dress> Danielle in a print with a coordinating color for ribbon

*Cashmere Sweater> Cardigan in a wool/cashmere blend (I’m not sure Tim would approve of the bulk though and I don’t have the time or the need for this type of heavy sweater. Maybe something in a cotton jersey might work better for me?)

*Sweatsuit alt.> Silk Caftan looks comfy, especially in silk for amazing happy skin. I never saw what Tim’s fashion victim picked for this since they didn’t include it in the selection of outfits for the big reveal and I think that’s the one 90% of Americans really want to see!

*Really Trendy Item> A funky purse, it reminds me of the mustard Baby Phat purse that I loved from the Spring/Summer 2012 collection.

And that leaves jeans (not ready to make those this year), black pants (not happening right now either) and a blazer (they didn’t have a pattern for one of those but you might get away with shortening the Talea trench, reducing the ease and changing the finishing details and fabric weight).

Am I really go to sew all of these? Probably not since I have the Burda Mags and tracing paper already whereas a printer is far more expensive to procure here. And the price of ink and computer paper makes printing one pattern at home about as expensive as one issue of the Burda Mag off the rack, especially when I find the back issues shrink wrapped in pairs for a mere R$9.90 (<$5). But I really do like the Marie Skirt, JJ blouse and Talea trench. I might print one of them out, but we shall see.

Leave a Reply

