Finally Unpacking and Sewing!

I haven’t had as much time as I would like to sew these days, that ends now! While I was in the US I bought all the odds and ends that I need to make my couture dress with Susan K, and a few other projects. I’ve also unpacked my jacket muslin from my fitting class along with the camel colored wool that I ordered for my Coco jacket. Since my Guffey jacket pattern muslin is completed and very similar to the Chanel jacket style, I’m using it to cut a jacket out to make couture style too. Here’s a preview of my work wardrobe shopping to go with my jacket.

Obviously I don’t know how they’ll look with the muslins, but we’ll see. I’ve cut out the muslin for the Simplicity top and have a pretty red silk that I think would look stellar in. I have pieces of dark purple and chocolate cottons that would look nice as skirts. One step at a time!

Here are some other fun patterns that I picked up.

I am really excited about trying patterns that are not part of the Big 4, so I’ll keep you posted on those as well. I will say this, I put together one of those downloadable Hotpatterns from Fabric.com and was really disappointed. The print out did not come with a measurement square like the Burda ones, so I couldn’t check that and the pattern had no finished measurements at the bust, waist, or hip. The pattern itself was underwhelming. Needless to say I never cut it out because of the frustration level.

Finally here are two projects I cut out and almost completed at Waetcher’s Fine Fabrics in Asheville, where they held the jacket class. I have finished them both now.

A night dress in a knit print from jo-anns and the less used version of this Fashion Star pattern. The ease is ridiculous. I probably could’ve cut out a Medium, even though Larges in other McCalls patterns work for me with minor adjustments. I took 3″ out of the strap length from front to back and numerous inches around in various areas. It is still a little loose, but that’s fine for a night dress. The other is also a Fashion Star pattern (M6552) with way too much ease.

Notice the size problem? It could fit two of me and I cut the large! I think this light cotton wasn’t light enough either. I picked this fabric up on Waetcher’s clearance table. There is no way a shoe string sized draw string is going to gather up the 10+” of ease in a flattering manner! I am thinking about cutting this one down and inserting a zipper or re-cutting into a sheath style dress since there’s enough fabric for it. We’ll see what inspires me. I did buy some solids based on the color wheel Cythnia helped me put together in the jacket class.

I pretty much bought a little of everything at Waetchers!

That leaves two UFOs to complete before starting something new. I’ve really made an effort to finish up the in process projects I brought here from the US. Or do I just cut that jacket out after my son goes to bed? Sometimes its hard to be practical when I want to cut my new fabrics now!

Leave a Reply

