The Couture Dress Update

Well I have ordered my fabric. I’ve been sewing for years and I have never sewn with wool (lived in the tropics so never saw the sense) or silk (a little pricey for me though with my fit being more successful in recent years I’ve splurged on some silk dupioni but never sewed it up) or plaid.  So this Marc Jacobs fabric has all three.

It was on sale at Farbicmart and it was purple! It hit all the high marks and supposedly it is lightweight tropical wool. We’ll see when I see it. Alas, I had it shipped to my PO in the US, and was planning on having a friend ship it to me, but seeing the postal rates and the 50% import taxes, I am going to have to wait until June when I journey back stateside.

In the meantime, here are a few dresses that I find inspiring in their use of plaid. The red and black one with shoulder drape and belt is my favorite. Maybe after a little more practice with plaid and pattern drafting I’ll make a go at that one.

6 thoughts on “The Couture Dress Update

  1. I’m having serious fabric envy here. I have just won a pattern on ebay that would be perfect for this fabric – Vogue 8413 – but I doubt the style of that pattern would suit where you live – so you must send that fabric to me immediately 🙂 !!

  2. Now I’ve signed up for the Couture Dress class I can totally see why you ordered this fabric. I no longer have fabric envy because you must sew the couture dress with it, even if you never wear it, because it’s just too perfect for the class! I can’t believe you have to wait until June to get your hands on it – that’d drive me nuts!!

    1. lol Thanks! I have images of how pretty the dress will be for about 30 minutes and then when I’ve sweated to death at least I’ll look good! I really hope tropical wool lives up to its name! It is immensely painful waiting! and after reading your post I read my emailed receipts more carefully and found the $25 coupon (doh!) but since I signed up for the starlet jacket less than a week ago (at least it was 50% off) I used the coupon to sign up for the retro-dress course. Of course after reading the supply list, I again will have to wait until I either find a specialty store here in Rio (which there has to be one somewhere!) or wait to June. ARGH! So what do you think you are going to make first?

  3. That’s so nice that we are now both signed up for the same courses. I think that the couture dress will be my first project because I’ve already got a fabric that I think will work. I will, however, not be being posh with it because it’s an acrylic suiting (with maybe a tiny bit of wool) and I really don’t want to spend a load of money on expensive lining and interlining so it’s probably going to be poly-cotton for the interlining and acetate for the lining.

    There must be places in Brazil where you can mail-order sewing stuff – otherwise Manequim magazine probably couldn’t survive.

    1. They do. I have found two websites that carry fashion fabrics rather than quilting fabrics. One offers white silk organza for R$79/m and the other R$59/m. To me that is too expensive when you consider Susan’s website offers it for $12/yd with the exchange rate at 1.667R$ per $ that makes it R$20 roughly before shipping. If I wait until June for all my supplies I think it will be much cheaper since silks are imported and Brazil has a 50% import fee. Cotton and polyester is far more reasonable here so I may try to make my first couture dress with a cotton with a muslin underlining.
      BTW being that you are in England, have you ever been to the Linton Tweeds factory? I can only imagine how much eye candy that place must have in their showroom!

Leave a Reply

