Skip to content

How did they miss that?

November 26, 2013

I think Burda should hire a proper tailor. Or buy some push-up bras and stuffing. Okay, pop quiz time!

Are these jackets from Burda’s December 2013 issue fitting this starving young lady well?

The answer is NO! The fabric on the Chanel-esque jacket is collapsing where her curves should be. The red jacket has entirely too much fabric coming off that shoulder to fit her non-bust. Why would they sacrifice fit to have a super skinny model? She is not selling these tailored patterns at all.

I understand they want the “fashion magazine” look, but when it isn’t selling their product, it seems stupid. Agreed? I spend so much time fitting a piece for myself, I would expect a sewing pattern company to make the same amount of effort when making samples. Look at the Indie companies like Colette or Victory. Other issues of Burda. Vogue and Butterick photograph their pieces well even though their patterns are weirdly drafted. If this was in Vogue Patterns, they would have her doing an odd or avant guarde pose to hide the poor fit. Burda chose to take these shots head on flaunting this improperly fitted bust. I just saw these posted on burdastyle.com and I wanted to slap someone. Maybe they thought we would be so distracted by her digitally enhanced cheek bones, we would never notice.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. November 26, 2013 4:35 pm

    Yes… and now try to fit it to your figure… it is even not sure if it would fit properly at all. No Burda patterns for me.

  2. mrsmole permalink
    November 26, 2013 5:31 pm

    I don’t know many women out there who have concave chest that would look the same in these jackets. Insane really…if you want to sell this to real women, put a real woman in the clothes, or like you say…bring on the stuffing! The red one looks like they just Photoshopped her head on a male model while he was adjusting his cravat…

    • December 2, 2013 4:28 pm

      Haha on the cravat. I bet Mr. Darcy would never be caught in such an ill-fitting jacket. =)
      That is one thing I love about the blog-sharing seamstresses around the internet. We can see real women in every shape and size wearing their creations and reviewing patterns. I think I will skip subscribing to Burda in protest of their current trend in model selection. I haven’t purchased trendy fashion magazines in years for the same reason. My only voice is the all mighty dollar and this just reminds me why I stopped subscribing to Vogue Fashion and Style.

  3. November 26, 2013 5:39 pm

    OMG – Someone buy that poor girl a Big Mac. There is nothing attractive or desirable about these shots. Don’t they know that a perfect fit is one of our reasons for sewing, and these shots are anything but perfect.

  4. November 26, 2013 5:51 pm

    Oh yes, that looks really bad. In the Chanel style one the chest dimples even form a bit of a face with the dimples and wrinkles below, quite funny.

  5. November 26, 2013 6:09 pm

    Agree with all the above, but canNOT believe that title. Oye!
    Glad to have you back, even briefly!
    xx del

    • December 2, 2013 4:20 pm

      My machine is dusted off and I have a few things prepped. I hope to get my foot on the pedal this week sometime. And of course, get some photos!

  6. November 28, 2013 10:26 am

    Great post! Not sure Burda “missed” about it. The first photo looks so disproportional (her head looks bigger than her torso) that I wonder if they haven’t – on purpose – used Photoshop to reach that starving skinny look that some people unfortunately favour or sadly, aim at.

    • December 2, 2013 4:23 pm

      You know, I just thought maybe they enhanced the lighting and her skin tone/shadows because of how the jackets cave in. I just don’t think this girl is all there in reality, but you are correct about how disproportionate her head is. It is so hard to tell.

  7. December 2, 2013 11:23 pm

    it wouldnt work for me as I am lumpy, I think the red one sort of works , reminding me of a loose vintage smoking jacket on a man. I would love these fabrics however for costumes.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

